Game of love

I entered the room and our eyes locked instantly
Suddenly my palms became sweaty
I didn’t realise that being weak in the knees was meant literally
And that my heart could beat so fast and yet not fail me

I want you

That was the thought I repeated
Like that annoying song you catch yourself singing
Because it drove me crazy but I couldn’t let it go
Too closed off to say I’d give you a chance
Too hurt to enter the realm of romance

My overwhelming fear disqualified me from this game called love
Until my vulnerability let me back in
Only to end up a loser yet again
You knew the rules or invented them along the way
I wonder. Which was your favourite game to play?

Truth or dare:
Do you dare me to take this chance with you?
Because I can tell that the feelings are true

Clue:
It was YOU who stole MY HEART with the weapon of YOUR WORDS in the place where I felt most comfortable, YOUR ARMS.

Twister:
Joyful roller coaster filled with colour
Didn’t matter if we fell,we always started over

Tetris:
Determined to make it work till we realised the pieces just didn’t fit
Yet I still pondered for a while when the screen prompted me ‘Are you sure you want to quit?’

Snakes and ladders:
The usual ups and downs, inevitable setbacks
We took one step forward but always made three steps backwards

Ludo:
Trying to no avail to find a way home
Striving to make a good impression on your family
But maybe for not being the right colour they couldn’t accept me

Monopoly:
It seems that all you had just wasn’t satisfying
The girls next door were more enticing
Why not take a card from the community chest?
But flip it over and see what you really get

Cards:
Suddenly one fell to the floor
Like you it was nothing but a joker
I decided that maybe it was time to start over
What I’m trying to say is goodbye, game over

What are your views on this?

All posts

